Symphony no. 1 (2019)

A 4 movements short symphony, full of energy and colours.

Composer’s notes:
For centuries, writing a symphony has meant doing an hard gesture. And a beautiful one. Then the practice, that worked perfectly from Haydn to Shostakovich, came to a halt. And after the World War II just a very few composers wrote symphonies.
Nowadays I think that the times we’re living in, so amazing, intense, tragic and vital, deserve to be fixed again in a symphony. So, after having composed a lot of orchestral music, I decided to take up the challenge of the History and I tried to compose my Symphony no. 1. That is short, happy, positive and – if it’s played as I wrote it – full of energy.
(nicola campogrande)


I – Allegro, with energy
II – Largo, peaceful
III – Allegro, playful
IV – Largo, but fraught with tension

Instrumentation – – timp – perc (2) – hp – str


Duration 12′

Sochi Winter International Arts Festival 2020

World Premiere
February 23, 2020
Sochi (Russia)
Russian National Youth Symphony Orchestra
Claudio Vandelli (cond.)

September 27, 2019